Introduction to Orienteering

Want Adventure, Fun, to look good or Keep fit?
Try our Introduction to Orienteering in November

What is Orienteering

Facebook

Recent Results

Sunday 12 November
Shepshed Urban

Thursday 2 November
Glenfield Night Winter League Event

Saturday 28 October
Super Saturday Hermitage

Wednesday 18 October
Western Park Winter League Event

Sunday 15 October
Burrough Hill

Saturday 23 September
Super Saturday Hood

Sunday 17 September
Tunnel Woods Club Champs

Friday 25 August
Junior Summer League Table


Mailchimp Sign up to MailChimp

Club Nights

| Contacts | Upcoming dates | Kit and costs |

Club nights cater for all members, young, old, experienced and new. They are opportunities to get together with fellow orienteers, learn, train and discuss orienteering.

When & Where
All are from 6.30 to 8.00pm

All 3 clubs nights include indoor and outdoor activities depending on weather conditions. Some of the sessions are held away from the usual venue to give variety of terrain and challenge, particularly during lighter evenings.

Monday club caters for juniors and families, and runs during school terms. In winter months the club meets in the gym at Brookvale for a mix of indoor and outdoor activities. In summer country parks or similar terrain at used.

Wednesday at Ivanhoe College, Ashby and Thursday at Glenfield Sports Ground cater for all ages and include fitness sessions as well as navigational skills.

Ashby Glenfield Groby
ashby glenfield groby
Location Period Organiser Coaches
Brookvale Gym (Late October to Early March), off site in the Summer Otherwise at Groby College. School terms time (but not December) Birthe Richter-Wilson Birthe Richter-Wilson and Iain Phillips
Glenfield Sports Ground, Gynsill Lane, Glenfield. (offsite September and March) Autumn and Winter terms Derek Herd Various
Ashby Map Runners, Ivanhoe Community College, North Street, Ashby-de-la-Zouch. (off site in Summer and occasionally in winter) School terms time only (but not when summer league is on Wed) Peter Hornsby Peter Hornsby, Iain Tebbutt, Mark Sherriff


Booking Contacts
The Club would be grateful if you could contact/phone the Organiser prior to your first session so that we can ensure the Newcomers Resource Pack is brought along to the Club night.

Contact Phone number Email
Mrs Birthe Richter-Wilson 0116 232 2718
Mr Derek Herd 07920090299
Mr Peter Hornsby 01530 456066


Kit and Cost

Equipment

You will usually need footwear suitable for the gym and for the playing fields. In the autumn and spring you will need warm clothing for outdoor activities. When it’s dark you will need a torch to read the map. Everything else can be provided.

If you want to buy equipment, you are welcome to try out the club’s loan compasses and dibbers during one of the sessions before choosing.

Charge: Families £5, Adults £3 and children £1.50 per session.

Do I need to join the Orienteering club?

You do not need to join the club while you are having your taster sessions. Our insurances only cover you for three taster sessions after which you should join.
Senior membership fee is £19 and Juniors are £7.30. Family membership is cheaper than joining individually see details at http://www.leioc.org.uk/new-to-o/join-the-club/



Details of venue and activities for individual club and activity nights for the next 8 weeks are shown below. Click on one of the links below.

2017

Monday 20 November Club Night Brookvale Gym
Wednesday 22 November Introduction to Orienteering – Club Night Session 4
Wednesday 22 November AMR Club Night Ivanhoe
Thursday 23 November Club Night Martinshaw Woods
Monday 27 November Club Night Brookvale Gym Children in Need
Thursday 30 November Club Night Glenfield Pavilion
Monday 4 December Club Night Brookvale Gym
Tuesday 5 December AMR Club Night Ivanhoe
Thursday 7 December Club Night Glenfield Pavilion
Thursday 14 December Club Night Glenfield Pavilion
Thursday 14 December AMR Club Night Ashby Photo O
Thursday 21 December Club Night Quiz

2018

Monday 1 January Test Activity
Thursday 4 January Club Night Glenfield Pavilion
Monday 8 January Club Night Brookvale Gym
Thursday 11 January Club Night Glenfield Pavilion